top of page

Billiken for Clean Water- Part II


See the original post on the Solea Water blog: http://www.soleawater.org/blog/2015/2/13/billiken-for-clean-water-part-ii

January 6th--An anonymous donor matched my donations for 12 days and today, donated $500 to my campaign! There is no stopping me now.

January 11th--My mom and I walked four miles together over winter break, because that is the average distance people walk to get clean water. She got to see how difficult it is to have to carry a jerry can filled with water.

January 12th--I ran into my friend who is fundraising for my water campaign. Go Kelsey! She told me that have many people have come up to ask her why she is carrying a yellow jug and that she has gotten a lot of support.

January 16th--I had a conundrum today after work: I thought I was going to be able to drive home, but found out I would have to bike. This meant that I would not be able to carry my jerry can with me, which made me really sad. But have no fear! The man at Mike's Bikes in Central West End told me not to worry. He provided me with a bike tire tube, which he strapped around my jerry can and backpack. Now, I will be able to carry my jerry can with me everywhere I go-even when I am biking. Needless to say, I am super pumped to bike now.

January 20th--My friend, Kendra, took a jerry can home with her over winter break and went hiking with it. Her dedication is very admirable and I am so proud of her!

January 23rd--Solea Water just received three more jerry cans, which means three more people can fundraise for my campaign now!

January 28th--I have been getting a lot more people to sign up to carry a jerry can. Hannah is a student ambassador and she took her jerry can with her while she was giving a tour. She is a rockstar supporter of my water campaign!

February 2nd--These two are very compassionate about my water project and I am grateful to have them involved! Kara and Sophie are both walking a half marathon with me in April with jerry cans.

February 9th--I am overwhelmed with joy to say that over $2,100 was raised today by St. Francis of Assisi School for my clean water campaign. Now, I am nearly $1,000 away from my goal of purchasing a windmill aqueduct for Solea Water to provide a village with clean water. This water campaign journey has been the biggest blessing in my life and I am very glad my old school could help with not only fundraising, but spreading awareness about the water crisis. The students carried around cups to see what it felt like to have something with them at all times, just like I carry my jerry can everywhere I go and just like the many woman and children do who have to walk to get clean water.

February 10th-- I REACHED MY GOAL of $7,500 to purchase a windmill aqueduct for Solea Water!!!!!!!!

5 months and 5 days ago I started carrying a jerry can to spread awareness about the water crisis. Little did I know that this yellow container would change my life. I have found a passion for something that drives me to be my best self and something I want to dedicate the rest of my life to.

During this journey, I have felt the love from so many friends, family members, and strangers. I could not have done it without you all.

I hope that my experience can encourage others to take small steps to make big change. All I did was carry a jerry can to class one day. And now, a village in Panama is going to have clean water because of it. Don't let anyone tell you that you can't. Because you can. I know you can!

Oh, and don't worry. This is not the end, only the beginning :)

February 12th--I am very grateful for all of the water ambassadors who helped me to spread awareness about the water crisis and raise money to purchase a windmill aqueduct. I could not have done it without you!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page